Historic Racing Sports Car Club

TACCOC October Spring Classic

The TACCOC Spring Classic saw a fine mid-spring day at Pukekohe Raceway.  The Historic Formula Ford’s only had ten cars entered for this meeting, eight Class I cars, and two Class II cars.  Making their season debut’s were Bruce McCoy (#13 Lola T342), Michael Clark (#32 Crossle 32F), and Phil Foulkes (#22 Van Diemen RF85).


Practise / qualification saw a spread of 7 seconds across the nine cars that took to the track.  Mike Lee (#55 Mondiale M86S) pounded out 11 laps around Puke’, setting the pole time of 1:10.526.


Race 1 was over 8-laps, and was eventually won by Foulkes in a rampant 9:25.771, setting fastest lap for the weekend of 1:08.527 in the process, but not before a short battle with Dave Silverton (#43 PRS), who just 0.102 seconds adrift of Foulkes at the line, with Foulkes only taking the lead on the final lap.  Mike Lee, whom had led for a period of the race, finished third 2.397 seconds behind Foulkes, but comfortably ahead of another tight grouping of three cars featuring Mike Creswell (#7 Lola T342), Vic Clarke (#911 Palliser WDF3) and Graham Dickie (#191 Begg FM3) whom were spread by a mere 0.873 seconds at the line.


Race 2, again over 8-laps was comfortably won by Silverton, finishing 13.533 seconds up on Michael Clark; himself only 0.201 seconds ahead of Foulkes in third.  Vic Clarke and Graham Begg again finished within a blink of each other (0.06 seconds), with Ron Wilkin (#72 Elden PRH10) on their coat-tails, just 0.6-seconds behind them.


Race 3 was once more  a Siverton victory, this time by 8.516 seconds.  Silverton also set the Class I fastest lap in this race, with a 1:08.826.  Foulkes raced home in second with a handy 4.5-second gap to Mike Creswell, who had his best placing of the weekend in third.  Creswell however had Michael Clark right on his exhaust pipe, a mere 0.205-secs behind in fourth.  Fifth was Mike Lee, whilst Ron Wilkin and Vic Clarke crossed the line in sixth and seventh respectively separated by a scant 0.014-seconds…


The Class leaders have changed around this weekend, with Dave Silverton taking charge in Class I, and Mike Lee moving atop the Class II table.


The next meeting is November 6 at Hampton Downs.  Entries at motorsportentry.com